All Silurian Officers Re-elected for 2019-20 Term;
Board of Governors Returns Virtually Intact

VIRTUALLY THE ENTIRE SLATE of officers and board members of the Silurians Press Club was re-elected for the 2019-20 term at the June luncheon meeting at the National Arts Club, the final lunch before activities resume in September.

David A. Andelman, president

All officers were re-elected. They are David A. Andelman, president; Michael Serrill, first vice president; Joseph Berger, second vice president; Linda Amster, secretary; and Karen Bedrosian Richardson, treasurer. Serrill also continues as editor of the Silurian News. Silurian presidents generally serve two consecutive one-year terms, then are succeeded by whoever is first vice president.

A former president of the Overseas Press Club, Andelman — a foreign correspondent, author and commentator — has compiled a long and distinguished record that spans print and broadcast media as fluidly as it does national borders. Over the course of his career, he has traveled through and reported from 86 countries. A graduate of Harvard University and the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, he is director of The Red Lines Project, and a “Voices” columnist for CNN Opinion. In 2018, he won a Deadline Club award for Best Opinion Writing for his CNN columns and in 2019 the same award a second time for his Reuters commentaries.

Michael Serrill, first vice president

For more than seven years, he was editor and publisher of World Policy Journal. Previously, he was an executive editor of Earlier, he was a New York Times correspondent in New York and Washington; a Southeast Asia bureau chief, based in Bangkok; and East European bureau chief, based in Belgrade. He then moved to CBS News where he served for seven years as Paris correspondent. Subsequent assignments: Washington correspondent for CNBC, news editor of Bloomberg News and business editor of The New York Daily News. He has written or translated four books—most recently “A Shattered Peace: Versailles 1919 and the Price We Pay Today”; and, scheduled for July publication, “An Impossible Dream: Reagan, Gorbachev and a World Without the Bomb,” which he translated from the French.

During his inaugural term as president, Andelman presided over a series of monthly lunches featuring an array of outstanding speakers: Linda Greenhouse, Arthur O. Sulzberger Jr., Craig Newmark, Les Hinton, Tony Schwartz, Dan Barry and Keith J. Kelly. Lifetime Achievement Award winner Ken Auletta spoke at a dinner honoring him in November 2018, and Rich Lamb of WCBS Newsradio 880 addressed the club at a luncheon this past April, when he was given the Peter Kihss Award.

Andelman also introduced the idea of having a keynote speaker at the annual Excellence in Journalism Awards Dinner, the first of whom was Newsday’s Debby Krenek in May. (All talks are available for viewing by clicking on the link in the box at the top of the panel on the home page’s right side.)

It was also during Andelman’s first year as president that the Society of the Silurians, known by that name since 1924, changed its name to the Silurians Press Club so that it could be more easily found on websites of media organizations.

Returning board members are Betsy Ashton, Jack Deacy, Bill Diehl, Allan Dodds Frank, Tony Guida, Aileen Jacobson; Myron Kandel, Bernard Kirsch, Carol Lawson, David Margolick, Ben Patrusky, Myron Rushetzky, Mort Sheinman and Scotti Williston. The only board change was the resignation of Valerie Komor, who stepped down because of time constraints imposed by her duties at The Associated Press, where she is the founding director of corporate archives.

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.