2017-18 SLATE

Bernard Kirsch Re-Elected President;
Clyde Haberman Joins Board of Governors

Bernard Kirsch

Bernard Kirsch was re-elected president of the Society of the Silurians by unanimous voice vote of members at the final lunch of the 2016-2017 season, June 21 at the National Arts Club.

Also returned to office for 2017-2018 were: David A. Andelman, first vice-president; Michael Serrill, second vice-president; Karen Bedrosian Richardson, treasurer; and Linda Amster, secretary. Andelman also continues as editor of the Silurian News.

In addition, a dozen standing members of the Board of Governors were re-elected to one-year terms. They are: Betsy Ashton; Jack Deacy; Bill Diehl; Allan Dodds Frank; Tony Guida; Myron Kandel; Valerie S. Komor; Carol Lawson; Ben Patrusky; Anne Roiphe; Myron Rushetzky; Wendy Sclight; and Mort Sheinman.

New to the board is Clyde Haberman, who spent the major portion of his long and illustrious career at The New York Times, as metro reporter, City Hall bureau chief, foreign correspondent in Tokyo, Rome and Jerusalem, and as a columnist. With his election, Haberman, recipient of the Silurians’ Peter Kihss Award in 2008, fills the seat vacated by Gerald Eskenazi, another veteran Timesman, who stepped down after 10 years of dedicated board service.

Brief bios of the officers and board members can be found here.

During his inaugural term as president, Kirsch presided over a series of monthly lunches that featured an outstanding roster of top-notch speakers. Among them: Frank Bruni, Jeffrey Toobin, Clyde Haberman and his daughter Maggie Haberman, Brian Stelter, Chris Hayes, Errol Louis, and Cindy Adams. (All talks are available for viewing by clicking on the link in the ear at the top of the right panel.)

As has become tradition, presidents serve no more than two years, with the first vice-president next in line for the post.


Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.