David A. Andelman Is Elected President,
Michael Serrill Editor of Silurian News

David A. Andelman

David A. Andelman

David A. Andelman, a foreign correspondent, author and commentator, has been elected 71st president of the Society of the Silurians, heading the 2018-19 slate of officers and board members. For the past two years, Andelman has been editor of the Silurian News. He is succeeded in that post by Michael Serrill, who in another move, advances from Second Vice President to First Vice President.

Andelman succeeds Bernard Kirsch, whose two-year term was marked by a series of speakers who consistently drew some of the biggest crowds ever to attend Silurian lunches. Speakers included Maggie Haberman of The New York Times being interviewed by her father, columnist Clyde Haberman; humorist Andy Borowitz of The New Yorker; Ronan Farrow, who would go on to win a 2018 Pulitzer Prize; television’s Chris Hayes and Dan Rather; and Katrina vanden Heuval of The Nation.

A former president of the Overseas Press Club, Andelman has a long and renowned record that spans print and broadcast media as fluidly as it does national borders. Over the course of his career, he has traveled through and reported from 86 countries. A graduate of Harvard University and the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism, he is a Visiting Scholar at the Center on National Security at Fordham Law School and director of The Red Lines Project, a member of the Board of Contributors of USA Today, and a “Voices” columnist for CNN Opinion. In May, he was awarded the Deadline Club award for Best Opinion Writing.

For more than seven years, he was editor and publisher of World Policy Journal. Previously, he was an executive editor of Earlier, he was a New York Times correspondent in New York and Washington; a Southeast Asia bureau chief, based in Bangkok; and East European bureau chief, based in Belgrade. He then moved to CBS News where he served for seven years as Paris correspondent. Subsequent assignments: Washington correspondent for CNBC, news editor of Bloomberg News and business editor of The New York Daily News.

Andelman was given the 2017 New York Press Club award for best political commentary for his USAToday columns. He is the author of “The Peacemakers” and “A Shattered Peace: Versailles 1919 and the Price We Pay Today” and the co-author of “The Fourth World War.” His articles have appeared in Harpers, The Atlantic, The New Republic, The New York Times Magazine, Readers Digest, Foreign Policy and Foreign Affairs.

Serrill, the new editor of the Silurian News, is a freelance writer and editor. He was assistant managing editor of Bloomberg Markets magazine and, like Andelman, is a former president of the Overseas Press Club. He was with Bloomberg from 2006 to 2015. Earlier in his career, he was an editor and senior writer with Time magazine, where he covered subjects ranging from the first Palestinian intifada to famine in Ethiopia. In 1998, he joined Institutional Investor magazine as assistant managing editor/international, then went to Business Week as Asia/International finance editor.

Serrill is succeeded as Second Vice President by Joseph Berger, who shifts from the Board of Governors. Other officers are Linda Amster, who remains as Secretary and Karen B. Richardson, who continues as Treasurer.

Two board members, Wendy Sclight and Anne Roiphe, are stepping down. Sclight, who did such an exceptional job as dinner chair and made a complex assignment look seamless, and Roiphe, whose insight added an important perspective to policy discussions at board meetings, will be succeeded on the board by David Margolick and Aileen Jacobson, two journalists with impressive credentials of their own.

Margolick is a longtime contributing editor at Vanity Fair and a freelance writer. He was a reporter at The New York Times from 1981 to 1996, specializing in legal affairs and covering some of the most headline-making trials of the past few decades, including those of O.J. Simpson, Lorena Bobbitt and William Kennedy Smith. He has also written books on subjects ranging from the 1938 championship fight between Joe Louis and Max Schmeling (“Beyond Glory”) to the fight for control of the Johnson & Johnson fortune (“Undue Influence”). His most recent book is “The Promise and the Dream: The Untold Story of Martin Luther King Jr. and Robert F, Kennedy.” Jacobson is an award-winning journalist who has covered the arts since at least the early 1970s, when she was a staff writer for the Washington Post’s Sunday magazine. From 1974 to 2008, she was with Newsday, covering the arts, reviewing plays, and writing about personal finance. She continues to be a regular contributor to The New York Times and other publications and is the author of “Women in Charge: Dilemmas of Women in Authority” and co-author of “The Consumer Reports Money Book.” Jacobson will succeed Sclight as dinner chair.

Other board changes include the return of Kirsch and Betsy Ashton, a former president. Ashton had been head of the Advisory Committee, which has now been disbanded. Remaining board members are Jack Deacy, Bill Diehl, Allan Dodds Frank, Tony Guida, Clyde Haberman, Myron Kandel, Valerie S. Komor, Carol Lawson, Ben Patrusky, Myron Rushetzky and Mort Sheinman.

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.